🔥4u

HOME PROJECTS ABOUT CONTACT
→ Facebook → Instagram
GiDR

GENDER IN DIGITAL REALITY

Opening 20 February 2018, 6pm
21 February – 10 March 2018
Material, Klingenstrasse 23, 8005 Zurich
With Magdalena Baranya, Samuel Haitz, Martina Mächler, Phia Seidler, Stella and Lena Maria Thüring
Curated by Ronja Oki and Laura Falletta
Opening with a multimedia installation by Philip Tsapaliras, Paula Ursprung and Artemisia Valisa

The exhibition concept negotiates the topic of the performativity of social gender. Based on Judith Butler's 1988 text „Performative Acts and Gender Constitution: An Essay in Phenomenology and Feminist Theory“, we discuss the thesis that identity first constitutes itself through the performative act. The goal of the group exhibition is to explore the manner in which gender role relations present themselves today and how gender is conceived through digitalisation.

Social medias are situated at the interface between the private and public spheres, and are where current trends traversing all social strata and age classes become most rapidly visible. These medias are also places of self-representation and its correlating performativity. For these reasons these medias ideally lend themselves to the inquiry into our core theme of the performativity of gender roles. To date this dynamically fluid discourse has lacked a stable platform through which to discuss and elaborate the ideas, concepts and aspirations embodied in the topic. Within this context there is a pressing need for an artistic assessment of actually experienced and/or potential gender roles, whereby such a discourse is also intended to reinforce acceptance of these underrepresented forms of identity.

The programme is intended to provide a framework in which to promote young artists interested in addressing the topics of identity, alternative ways of life and the subversion of existing power constellations for the exhibition. The aim thereby is to reinforce an exchange between artists with varying work practices.

In connection with the exhibition location, an appraisal of the interplay between digital medias and analogue carriers will take place, including how the two condition each other. Can virtual worlds survive without analogue hosts, and what do they require to perform themselves? Vice versa, this raises the question to what extent analogue medias serve their digital counterparts – when for instance books open up virtual spaces – and how, in this process, statement impact is transformed.

During the three weeks of the exhibition a supporting programme will be held in the bookshop, with readings, film screenings and performances, designed to treat the exhibition topic from another perspective, but also to critically question it. All of the events during this period are dedicated to the exhibition subject.

How does gender constitute itself today? Which forms of undermining may be identified? What role do social media play on the constitution of gender? The exhibition GENDER IN DIGITAL REALITY examines these and other questions.


Logo Respect Logo Material

DE//EN

🔥4u

HOME PROJECTS ABOUT CONTACT
→ Facebook → Instagram

GENDER IN DIGITAL REALITY

Eröffnung 20. Februar 2018, 18 Uhr
21. Februar – 10. März 2018
Material, Klingenstrasse 23, 8005 ZĂĽrich


GIDR Ausstellungsansichten

Mit Magdalena Baranya, Samuel Haitz, Martina Mächler, Phia Seidler, Stella und Lena Maria Thüring
Eröffnung mit einer multimedialen Installation von Philip Tsapaliras, Paula Ursprung und Artemisia Valisa

Das Ausstellungskonzept verhandelt das Thema Performativität des sozialen Geschlechts. Basierend auf dem Text von Judith Butler „Performative Akte und Geschlechterkonstitution“ aus dem Jahr 1988, diskutieren wir die These, dass sich Identität erst durch performative Akte konstituiert. Die Gruppenausstellung soll untersuchen, wie sich die Geschlechterrollenverhältnisse heute präsentieren und wie Gender durch die Digitalisierung gedacht wird.

Soziale Medien liegen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Privatsphäre und Öffentlichkeit, an der aktuelle Tendenzen in allen Gesellschaftsschichten und Altersklassen am schnellsten sichtbar werden. Sie sind auch Ort der Selbstdarstellung und der damit einhergehenden Performativität. Deshalb eignen sie sich, um das zentrale Thema der Performativität von Geschlechterrollen zu untersuchen. Diesem sich rasant wandelnden Diskurs wird noch keine stabile Plattform geboten, um die Ideen, Vorstellungen und Wünsche zu diesem Thema zu diskutieren und weiterzuführen. In diesem Kontext ist eine künstlerische Bestandsaufnahme von tatsächlich gelebten und/oder möglichen Geschlechterrollen dringend angezeigt.

Die Ausstellung soll mit ihrem Programm einen Rahmen bieten und junge Künstler zeigen, die sich für diese Ausstellung mit den Themen Identität, alternativen Lebensformen und der Unterwanderung von bestehenden Machtkonstrukten auseinandersetzen. Dabei soll der Austausch zwischen Künstlern mit unterschiedlichen Arbeitspraxen gestärkt werden.

In Zusammenhang mit dem Ausstellungsort soll das Zusammenspiel von digitalen Medien und analogen Trägern untersucht werden und auf welche Weise sich diese bedingen. Können virtuelle Welten ohne analoge Wirte bestehen und was benötigen sie, um sich zu performen? Umgekehrt wirft dies die Frage auf, wie analoge Medien den digitalen dienen, wenn beispielsweise Bücher virtuelle Räume öffnen und wie sich dadurch die Wirkung der Aussage verändert.

Während der dreiwöchigen Ausstellungszeit wird im Material ein Rahmenprogramm mit Lesung, Diskussionsrunde, Vortrag, Konzert und einer Performance stattfinden, welches das Ausstellungsthema von einer anderen Perspektive aufarbeitet, aber auch kritisch überprüft. Alle Veranstaltungen während dieser Zeit widmen sich dem Thema der Ausstellung.

Wie konstituiert sich Geschlecht heute? Welche Formen von Unterwanderung der Geschlechterzugehörigkeit sind festzustellen? Welchen Einfluss üben Neue Medien auf die Konstitution von Geschlechterrollen aus? Diesen und anderen Fragen geht die Ausstellung GENDER IN DIGITAL REALITY nach.


Logo Respect Logo Material Logo NORD3

DE//EN